Tenth Annual Georgia Undergraduate Art History Forum

This is a guest post by Emma Kearney, class of 2013.

I am a double major in Art History and English Literature here at Agnes Scott. English is one of the biggest departments on campus and Art is one the smallest. As much as I love the English department and my major, it is missing something that the Art department has: a sense of unity among every member. Everyone at Agnes Scott has to take at least two literature classes, an English 110 and some literature class. This causes great diversity in the classes, but lack of communal feeling. And as much as I think everyone should be required to take class in the Art department, I also love that everyone in my upper level Art History classes in there because they love the subject being taught. That passion creates a community that I am reminded of every time I step into the classroom, and I could feel it even more at the Tenth Annual Georgia Undergraduate Art History Forum on February 25.

We had three presenters from Agnes Scott at the conference, including the two senior Art History students who presented their senior seminars. I was admittedly very nervous; I presented my very first art history research paper from my first upper-level art history class. It was kind of intimidating knowing that the other Agnes Scott representatives had a lot more experience in presenting and art history.

But then I started having fun.  Probably a totally nerdy statement, but it is always captivating to hear people talk about something they love, especially when I love what they are talking about as well. So listening to the other talks, given by my art history counterparts from across the state was really exciting. I got to hear papers about things I love like Gian Lorenzo Bernini, as well as artists I had never heard of before. The Forum was a great opportunity to prepare for the upcoming Collage Art Colloquium, hosted by Agnes Scott and served as a reminder that arts are unsuccessful in a vacuum, even art history that sometimes can be relegated to the vacuum of academia. Any subject will be more exciting and enriching when it can be shared among and with peers.

Plus when you put a bunch of art history students and professors together in a room, the topic may be very predictable, but it is not at all boring (at least to an Art History major!)

Leave a Reply

